Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center


Ajax Loading Image


Area Scholars Honored at Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Program

From left, Mid-Ohio Board of Governors President Dick Theaker, Vice President Doug Theaker, Highland Local's Annabelle Zerby, Galion City's Simon Shawk, Lexington Local's Joanna Halfhill, and Mid-Ohio ESC Superintendent Kevin D. Kimmel

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center (MOESC) recognized 11 senior students from client school districts for their academic success, and school and community service at the annual Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Dinner on March 16th.

Three students were awarded $500 scholarships each based on their school grades, test scores, activities and an essay detailing the positive impact of one educator on their lives.  All students read their tributes aloud and introduced their “Positive Impact Person” to the audience of over 100 people; including family members and school administrators.
Winners of the $500 scholarships made possible by Mid-Ohio ESC Board of Governors were awarded to: Simon Shawk, Galion City Schools; Annabelle Zerby, Highland Local Schools and Joanna Halfhill, Lexington Local Schools.

Shawk acknowledged Michael Moore as his Positive Impact Person and said his goals were to graduate at the top of his class and run track in college. He said eventually he wants to find his place in the world to make a big positive impact on people helping them feel more fulfilled in life.

Zerby praised her Positive Impact Person, Jeanette McCann, and said her biggest goal in life is to become an aerospace engineer. She said NASA is an option for her, but she’s looking forward to many opportunities. She is currently deciding between Ohio State, Penn State, and Purdue for her college education.

Halfhill honored Anne Petrie and said her goal is to attend the United States Military Academy to major in engineering. “I want the discipline, rigor, and accountability in my daily life,” she said. Her long-term goal is to become an officer and make her career in the military.

MOESC Superintendent Kevin D. Kimmel said, “These 11 students truly represent the best of the best in the region, and I want to congratulate them on their many accomplishments. I also want to thank the individuals that the students selected as their Positive Impact Person. This is quite an honor to know that you have made a difference in these students' lives.”

Others honored as Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award nominees included Hannah Delong, Crestline Exempted Village Schools; Abigail Rall, Crestview Local Schools; Alexa Fulk, Lucas Local Schools; Taylor Huff, Madison Local Schools; Daisjah Brown, Mansfield City Schools; Julia Kanagy, Northmor Local Schools; Emma Allen, Pioneer CTC; and, Levi Robinson, Plymouth - Shiloh Local School.

To honor former State Superintendent Dr. Franklin B. Walter, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) established the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards to promote student achievement and recognize academic accomplishment.  One student from each of Ohio’s 88 counties will be honored at a ceremony April 27th in Columbus.

All three Mid-Ohio ESC winners will represent their respective county at the state ceremony. Lexington Local Schools senior Joanna Halfhill will represent Richland County. Galion City Schools senior Simon Shawk will represent Crawford County and Highland Local Schools senior Annabelle Zerby will represent Morrow County.

More Headlines