Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center


Ajax Loading Image


MOESC Board of Governors Adds Member, Recognizes Members for Service

To start the first Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center Board of Governors meeting of the year, a new member was added to replace Mary Dixon, who retired in December. Bill McFarland was elected to a four-year term back in November to represent Richland County and was sworn in during the January 19th organizational meeting. McFarland is a retired educator with 39 years of experience. He spent 29 of those years as an administrator with several districts in Northwest Ohio. He now lives in Lucas where he serves on the Lucas Community Center Board and is a member of the Lucas Lions Club.

Since the Ohio School Boards Association celebrates School Board Recognition Month every January to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society, Mid-Ohio ESC is joining with districts throughout the state to recognize the important contributions school board members make to their communities. School Board Recognition Month honors the members of all Ohio’s city, exempted village, local and joint vocational boards of education and educational service centers governing boards for their commitment to providing quality public education to Ohio’s school children. 

The men and women comprising MOESC’s Board of Governors (including their tenure) are: 

  • Brad Geissman - 6 years
  • Bill McFarland - newly elected
  • Glenna Plotts - 6 years
  • Richard “Dick” Prater - 6 years
  • Margaret “Margie” Prater - 6 years
  • Kyle Swigart - 6 years
  • Doug Theaker - 28 years

Mid-Ohio ESC Superintendent Kevin D. Kimmel presented everyone with a certificate of commendation on behalf of the Ohio School Boards Association at the monthly meeting.

Board members determined that meetings will continue to be the 3rd Wednesday of each month starting at 12:00 p.m. They also voted on their 2022 officers. Dick Prater was elected president and Doug Theaker, vice-president.

“We are very lucky to have a dedicated Board of Governors that works closely with education professionals and community members to create an educational vision for our client districts and their students,” Kimmel said. “On behalf of the students and staff of our client districts and our community, I would like to personally thank the board members for their efforts in providing leadership for our educational service center.” For more information regarding School Board Recognition month, visit www.ohioschoolboards.org/.

More Headlines