Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center


Ajax Loading Image


Mid-Ohio ESC Business Advisory Council Receives Workforce Development Award

Cindy Wood (right), Chair of the Partnership Board of Directors presents the Workforce Development Award to Amy Wood (center), MOESC Director of Grants & Special Projects and Kevin D. Kimmel (left), MOESC Superintendent.

Mansfield, OH (April 11, 2024) – MOESC’s Business Advisory Council was awarded the Workforce Development Award at the Crawford Partnership State of the Vision program, which took place on March 14, 2024, at The Hub in Crestline. Cindy Wood, Chair of the Partnership Board of Directors presented the award to Amy Wood, MOESC Director of Grants & Special Projects and Kevin D. Kimmel, MOESC Superintendent.

This esteemed recognition was bestowed upon Mid-Ohio ESC in recognition of the outstanding efforts of the Mid-Ohio ESC Business Advisory Council in organizing the successful Teacher Bootcamp. Amy Wood, the Director of Grants & Special Projects at Mid-Ohio ESC, played a pivotal role in spearheading this initiative.

Mid-Ohio Superintendent Kevin Kimmel stated, “The Workforce Development Award is in recognition of Amy Wood’s hard work and effort in coordinating the Teacher Bootcamps in our three-county service area. This type of program provides the necessary connections between education and business that is critical in providing staff the tools to connect students to a career pathway.”

Watch the Crawford Partnership’s video about the Teacher Bootcamp here

This summer MOESC will hold Teacher Manufacturing and Technology Bootcamps in June. The deadline to apply is April 26, 2024, with fifteen spots available in each county. All core content and special area middle and high school teachers, school counselors and career coaches may apply at the links below. Educators in all schools in Richland, Crawford and Morrow Counties are eligible to apply.

Register for Crawford County at https://forms.gle/jzHarRHLR9ypowkh7

Register for Morrow County at https://forms.gle/MEfUzRuey2Gn8BC49

Register for Richland County at https://forms.gle/zAZRDURwc4sDVurSA

Lisa Marcum, Workforce Development Manager for the Crawford Partnership, talked about the importance of the Teacher Bootcamp: "The Teacher Bootcamp serves as an essential resource for equipping our local educators with valuable insights into the manufacturing opportunities within our community. By gaining firsthand knowledge of industry requirements and the skills necessary for employment, participating teachers are empowered to better prepare their students for future career pathways. Under the support of the Mid-Ohio ESC and the outstanding leadership of Director Amy Wood, this event exemplifies collaboration and dedication, ensuring its success for all stakeholders involved."

Amy Wood expressed her appreciation for the award: “I am deeply grateful to the Crawford Partnership for recognizing our efforts with the Workforce Development Award. Together with the Partnership, we are committed to empowering educators and students alike, and this award reaffirms our collective commitment to preparing the next generation for success in the workforce. Thank you to the Crawford Partnership for this meaningful acknowledgment."

Started in 2006, the Crawford Partnership for Education and Economic Development is a private, non-profit corporation dedicated to driving collaborative economic, community and workforce development in Bucyrus, Galion, Crestline, New Washington, and all of Crawford County, Ohio. This year, the county ranked in the top three percent nationally for economic development and is pursuing an aggressive, strategic, and comprehensive agenda to become a community of choice for business and residents.

Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center provides specialized academic and support services to 13 school districts and over 20,000 students in Crawford, Morrow and Richland Counties. Client districts receive services from curriculum, gifted and special education consultants, speech pathologists, psychologists, special education teachers, occupational therapists and physical therapists

More Headlines